Obtaining and Maintaining your Certification


Project Management Professional (PMP)® 

You either need to have a high school diploma plus 7500 hours (equivalent to approximately 5 years) of experience working with managing projects and 35 qualified hours of project management education. If you have a degree, then you will only need 4500 hours (approximately 3 years) of experience with managing projects and the same 35 hours education requirement.

Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)® 

Requirements are less than that of the PMP® but you will still need a high school diploma plus at least 1,500 hours of project management experience. Alternatively, you may also have 23 educational hours of project management at the time you write the exam.

35 Educational Hours

The educational hours can be obtained from taking our PM 400 Course – PMP® Certification Exam Prep.

Non-Overlapping Projects

Project Management Institute (PMI) requires project management experience that is non-overlapping in months.

For example, you have a Bachelor’s degree and worked part time on Project A and Project B for the same 10 months. Only 10 months will count towards fulfilling the 36 months (3 years) requirement, not 20. However, hours from both projects will be counted towards satisfying the 4,500 hours requirement.

What counts as Project Management hours?

PMI states that you need to have “led or directed project tasks.” Please use your professional judgement to make the call and ensure to describe any leading or directing experience in the description section of each project. You may be more of a team member than the leading project manager, but some of those hours may count towards satisfying the requirements.

Retaining your certification

  • PMP®: 60 PDU hours are required to be obtained over the course of 3 years. PDU’s can be earned from PMI webinars, Courses from Registered Educational Providers or Other methods, see www.pmi.org 
  • CAPM®: you do not need to earn PDUs, instead, take a re-exam before the end of your five-year certification cycle to maintain your certification